Latest News Announcements

2016 Outstanding New Scholars awarded

by WSSA Admin,
Published on May 14, 2016

Each year WSSA officers choose three outstanding scholars, junior faculty members at United States universities who have been active in their disciplines for less than six years, whose cutting edge research and substantial contributions to the social sciences, and strong promise of future such contributions, make them worthy of the designation "Outstanding New Scholar".  For details on this year's awardees, see full article text. (Beginning with the 2017 awards, the designation will be "Outstanding Emerging Scholar")

One scholar is chosen by the Immediate Past-President, one by the President, and one by the President Elect. The Immediate Past-President's choice for 2016 was Dr. Kuo-Ray Mao, Sociology Department of Colorado University; the President's choice was Dr. Liat Ben-Moshe, Disability Studies Program of Toledo University; and the President-Elect's choice was Dr. Jule Maldonado, Anthropology Department of the University of California-Santa Barbara.