Latest News Announcements

Executive Board Election Results In: Christopher Brown is President-Elect, click to see others

by WSSA Admin,
Published on March 22, 2017

The results of the election for the 2017-2018 Executive Board are in - see full article, below

Immediate Past President : Michèle Companion,
of University of Colorado, Colorado Springs
As provided in the WSSA Constitution, in order to promote continuity and keep that person’s experience available to the Association, the outgoing President automatically assumes the office and duties of the Immediate Past President for the following year.

President : Barbara Bonnekessen,
of Pittsburg State University
As provided in the WSSA Constitution, the outgoing President–Elect automatically assumes the office and duties of the President of the Association for the following year, bringing to the office the considerable experience gathered as Program Coordinator in the previous year.

President-Elect/Program Coordinator : Christopher Brown,
of New Mexico State University (NMSU)
Dr. Brown served as a member of the Executive Board 2008-2011, as Vice President 2011-2012, and as Vice-President/Secretary 2016-2017. He also served as President of the Association of Borderland Studies (ABS) 2006-2007.

Vice-President/Secretary : Anthony Amato,
of Southwest Minnesota State University
Dr. Amato has brought his interdisciplinary outlook and a service agenda to the Western Social Science Association for more than a dozen years. He is currently serving on the WSSA Executive Board (2014-2017), and he serves as the Faculty Association secretary at his home institution.

Incoming Executive Board Members,
who will serve through the 2020 conference :
          Karen Jarratt-Snider, Northern Arizona University;
Dr. Jarratt-Snider served as Coordinator for the American Indian Studies section for the 2011, the 2012, and the 2016 conferences.
          Meghna Sabharwal, University of Texas at Dallas.
Dr. Sabharwal has served as Coordinator of the Asian Studies section since the 2016 conference.
          Jesús Ruiz Flores, Universidad de Guadalajara - CUCiénega, México.
Dr. Ruiz Flores has served as Co-Coordinator of the Latin American Studies section since the 2012 conference, and has served as a member of the Executive Board since 2014 - this will be his second term.

Continuing Executive Board Members
          Debra Andrist
, Mary Jo Tippeconnic Fox, and Stephen Mumme will continue as members through the 2018 conference.
          Moises Diaz, Mark Melichar, and William Schaniel will continue as members through the 2019 conference.