Officers


Executive Council 2017-2018

President

bonnekessen

Barbara Bonnekessen, Ph.D. 
Department of History, Philosophy, and Social Sciences 
412 Russ Hall, Pittsburg State University 
1701 Broadway 
Pittsburg, KS  66762 
E-mail: bbonnekessen@pittstate.edu

Immediate Past President

companion

Michèle Companion, Ph.D. 
Department of Sociology
University of Colorado, Colorado Springs  
1420 Austin Bluffs Parkway 
Colorado Springs, CO 80918 
Phone: (719) 255-4141 
E-mail: mcompani@uccs.edu

President-Elect / Program Coordinator, 2018 conference

Christopher Brown, Ph.D. 
Department of Geography
New Mexico State University
PO Box 30001, MSC MAP
Las Cruces, NM 88003-8001
Phone: (575) 646-1892
E-mail: brownchr@nmsu.edu

Vice-President / Secretary

Anthony Amato, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Social Sciences 
Southwest Minnesota State University 
Marshall, MN 56268 
E-mail: anthony.amato@smsu.edu
Phone: (507) 537-6117

Council Members Through 2018

Debra Andrist, Ph.D.
Dept of Foreign Languages
Professor of Spanish
Sam Houston State University
Huntsville, TX 75428
E-mail: Andrist@shsu.edu

fox

Mary Jo Tippeconnic Fox, Ph.D. 
Research Professor 
American Indian Studies
University of Arizona

Harvill 218, PO Box 210076 
Tucson, Arizona 85721-0076 
E-mail: foxm@email.arizona.edu 
Work phone: (520) 626-4242

Stephen Mumme, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Political Science 
Colorado State University 
Fort Collins, CO  80523 
E-mail: smumme@colostate.edu

Council Members Through 2019

Moises Diaz
Clinical Assistant Professor
Sociology, Social Work & Anthropology Department

Utah State University
Logan, UT 84322
E-mail: 
moises.diaz@usu.edu 

 

Mark Melichar, Ph.D.
Assistant ProfessorTennessee Technical University
Economics Finance and Marketing
Cookeville, TN 38505
E-mail: 
mmelichar@tntech.edu

schaniel

William Schaniel, Ph.D. 
University of West Georgia (retired)
Global Scholastic Services 
2451 Cumberland Pkwy., Ste. 3588
Atlanta, Georgia 30339
E-mail: wschanie@westga.edu

Council Members Through 2020

 

Karen Jarratt-Snider, Ph.D.
Chair and Associate Professor
Northern Arizona University
Department of Applied Indigenous Studies
P.O. Box 15020
Flagstaff, AZ 86011 
E-mail: Karen.Jarratt-Snider@nau.edu

 

Jesús Ruiz Flores, Ph.D. 
Research Professor 
Department of Political Science and Society 
Universidad de Guadalajara, at La Ciénega 
Ocotlán, Jalisco, México 
E-mail: mgems.ruiz@gmail.com 
Phone: (392) 925-9400 Ext. 48396 

 

Meghna Sabharwal, Ph.D. 
University of Texas at Dallas
Associate Professor of Public Affairs
Department of Public and Nonprofit Management
Economic Political and Policy 
E-mail: mxs095000@utdallas.edu

Executive Director

gould

Larry A. Gould, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus, NAU 
2307 Chof Trail
Flagstaff, AZ 86005 
E-mail: larry.gould@nau.edu
Phone: (928) 606-2248

Student Grant & Awards Coordinator

schaniel

William Schaniel, Ph.D. 
University of West Georgia (retired)
Global Scholastic Services 
2451 Cumberland Pkwy., Ste. 3588
Atlanta, Georgia 30339
E-mail: wschanie@westga.edu

Editor, Social Science Journal

Stephanie Witt, Ph.D.
Dept. of Public Policy & Administration and Political Science
Boise State University
Environmental Research Building
Room 5143, Mail Stop 1935
1910 University Dr.
Boise, ID 83725-1935
E-mail: switt@boisestate.edu

Book Review Editor, Social Science Journal

Chelsea Schelly, Ph.D.
Dept. of Social Sciences
Michigan Technological University
Academic Office Building
1400 Townsend Drive
Houghton, MI 49931
E-mail: cschelly@mtu.edu

Communications Director & On-site Conference Manager

herke2

Kate Herke, B.Sc.
La. Ofc. of Student Financial Assistance
c/o Western Social Science Association
2561 Citiplace Court, Suite 750-158
Baton Rouge, LA 70808-2722
E-mail: WSSA.Admin@nau.edu

 

Association Archivist

burkardt

Nina Burkardt, Ph.D.
Midcontinent Ecological Science Center
United States Geological Survey
4512 McMurry Avenue
Fort Collins, CO 80525
Office: (970) 226-9275
E-mail: Nina_Burkardt@usgs.gov

Webmaster

For matters concerning the functioning of the website itself, please contact:

Matt Molenar
MGM Design
Yuma, AZ 85364
Office: (928) 782-5915
E-mail: matt@mgmdesign.com
Web: www.mgmdesign.com 
Mr. Molenar designed the website, hosts it, and makes all technical changes.

For matters concerning the content of the website, please contact Kate Herke, contact information shown above.