Executive Council 2020-2021

President        (Elected office)

Mary Jo Tippeconnic Fox, Ph.D.  
Research Professor, American Indian Studies
Affiliate Faculty, Gender & Women's Studies
University of Arizona
PO Box 210076
Building: Richard P. Harvill Building (#76)
Room # : 224
Tucson, AZ  85721

Immediate Past President         

Debra D. Andrist, Ph.D.
Professor of Spanish
Sam Houston State University
Dept. of World Languages & Cultures
Huntsville, TX 77341

President-Elect / Program Chair, 2021 conference      (Elected office)

Anthony Amato, Ph.D. 
Southwest Minnesota State University
Department of Social Science

Vice-President / Secretary          (Elected office)

Companion, Michele Michèle Companion, Ph.D.
Professor of Sociology and Department Chair 
University of Colorado, Colorado Springs
Sociology Department 

Council Members Through 2021          (Elected office)

Jessica Clark, Ph.D.
Vice President for Learning and Student Services
Northland Pioneer College
White Mountain Campus
1001 W Deuce of Clubs
Show Low, AZ 85901 

Monica Gallamore, Ph.D.
Professor of History
Collin College 

2200 W. University Dr., McKinney, TX
Stephen Mumme, Ph.D.
Colorado State University
Department of Political Science  
Fort Collins, CO  80523

Council Members Through 2022          (Elected office)

  Guadalupe Correa Cabrera, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
George Mason University
Schar School of Policy and Government
Van Metre Hall, Room 676
3351 Fairfax Drive
Arlington, VA, 22201

Christopher A. Erickson, Ph.D.
Professor and Interim Department Head
Economics/Applied Statistics/International Business
New Mexico State University
Las Cruces, NM 88003
Mobile: 575-680-6098


William Pederson, MSW
Northern Arizona University, Yuma (ret.)
Department of Social Work
P.O. Box 6236
2020 S. Ave. 8E
Yuma, Arizona 85366-6236

Council Members Through 2023          (Elected office)

Karen Jarratt-Snider, Ph.D.
Chair and Associate Professor
Northern Arizona University
Department of Applied Indigenous Studies
P.O. Box 15020
Flagstaff, AZ 86011 

Fernando P. Viacava-Breiding, M.A. 
Professor of Finance
Tecnológico Nacional De México, Campus Morelia 
Department of Economic and Administrative Sciences
Av. Tecnológico 1500 Col. Lomas de Santiaguito 
C.P. 58120 Morelia, Michoacán, México

Tonia Warnecke, Ph.D. 
Rollins College
Department of Social Entrepreneurship 

              ____________Ex-Officio Council Members____________

Executive Director

Larry A. Gould, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Northern Arizona University 
2307 Chof Trail
Flagstaff, AZ 86005 

Contact for:

  • All WSSA business matters
  • All WSSA legal matters
  • All WSSA election matters

  • Processes proposals to add or delete WSSA sections

Communications Director & On-site Conference Manager

Kate Herke, B.Sc.
La. Ofc.Student Financial Assist. (ret.)
c/o Western Social Science  Assoc.
7350 Jefferson Hwy.
Suite 485-158
Baton Rouge, LA 70806

Comprises :

  • Conference Manager 
  • Public Relations Manager
  • Newsletter Editor
  • Web Presence Manager
  • Associate Executive Director
  • Membership Manager     

Student Grant & Awards Coordinator


William Schaniel, Ph.D. 
Responsible for the

  • WSSA Graduate Student Paper Competition 
  • WSSA Undergraduate Student Paper Competition
  • John Wicks Dissertation Paper Competition
  • WSSA Student Travel Grants. 

Also distributes the applications for other scholarships to the appropriate committees.

University of West Georgia (retired)
Global Scholastic Services 
126 Point Rd.
Whitesburg, GA 30185

Co-Editors, Social Science Journal

Krista Lynn Minnotte, Ph.D.     

Daphne Pedersen, Ph.D. 


Department of Sociology
University of North Dakota
225 Centennial Drive, Stop 7136
Grand Forks, ND 58202-7136
E-mail :

Book Review Editor, Social Science Journal

Chelsea Schelly, Ph.D.
Dept. of Social Sciences
Michigan Technological University
Academic Office Building
1400 Townsend Drive
Houghton, MI 49931

                                          Non-Council Staff

Association Archivist


Nina Burkardt, Ph.D.
Midcontinent Ecological Science Center
United States Geological Survey
4512 McMurry Avenue
Fort Collins, CO 80525
Office: (970) 226-9275

Program Editor

Dianne Berry
Schedules rooms/days/times for all sections of the annual conference, and formats both the paper and online versions of the conference program. 

University of Colorado, Colorado Springs


Matt Molenar

Mr. Molenar designed the website and hosts it, and makes techical changes to the programming.

MGM Design
Yuma, AZ 85364
Office: (928) 782-5915

For matters concerning the content of the website, please contact the Communications Director, contact information shown above.